Articles

Influencing Health Policy: How to Write Health Policy Briefs

Society for Health Psychology Teleconference Series

Thursday, May 31, 2018
1:00 pm ET, noon CT, 11:00 am MT, 10:00 am PT
Health policy directly affects individuals’ wellbeing and public health at large.
 
Health policy briefs are short reports about health written in plain language to be easily understood by policy makers, congressional staffers, and other decision makers to inform health policy. While most psychologists and healthcare professionals are interested in health policy and have the skills and knowledge to inform health policy, few have training in how to do so.
 
This teleconference offers guidance on how to write health policy briefs and get more involved in health policy work. In addition, a brief overview will be provided about how to respond to request for public comments on national health policy recommendations and guidelines.
 
Speakers:

Joanna Buscemi, PhD, DePaul University
Stephanie Fitzpatrick, PhD, Kaiser Permanente Center for Health Research, SfHP Health Policy Council
Kristen Riley, PhD, Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center
 
This series and other SfHP-sponsored teleconferences and webinars are presented as a benefit of membership in the Society for Health Psychology.  Please join/renew prior to this event, in order to participate. 
 
(This is not a CE-eligible event.  The teleconference will be recorded for future posting on the SfHP website.)
 
To Register:
 
If you plan to participate, please RSVP to apadiv38@verizon.net by 5:00 pm Eastern time on Friday, May 25, 2018.  You may also submit questions in your RSVP email. 
 
A confirmation email, with dial-in instructions and supporting documents, will be sent no later than 5:00 pm Eastern time on Tuesday, May 29.
 
Please put “Health Policy” in the subject line.  
 
Keep in mind:  you do not need to be a member of APA to join our Society. 
 

Follow us on Social Media