Articles

Register now! Next SfHP Teleconference: Managing Opioid Risk

 

“Managing Opioid Risk and Chronic Pain in Clinical Settings”

hosted by the SfHP Early Career Professionals Council

 
Thursday, May 4, 2017  
2:00 pm ET, 1:00 pm CT, 12:00 pm MT, 11:00 am PT
 
 
Pain continues to be the leading reason why patients seek out medical treatment.  However, treating pain may include use of opioid analgesics that have a risk of abuse or dependence. This teleconference covers some of the challenges and opportunities to improve treatment for patients struggling with chronic pain and opioid use. Participants will learn to differentiate between categories of pain, develop an awareness of the role of interdisciplinary care in pain evaluation and treatment, acquire an understanding of the use of functional pain assessments, and gain familiarity with the epidemiology of opioid prescribing for pain and pathways to reduce opioid use.
 
Questions are welcome!!
 
Speakers:
 
Amy Wachholtz, PhD, MDiv, MS
Assistant Professor
Department of Psychology
University of Colorado Denver
 
Ravi Prasad, PhD
Clinical Associate Professor
Department of Anesthesiology, Perioperative and Pain Medicine
Stanford University School of Medicine
 
Moderator: 
 
Nancy Beckman, PhD
Assistant Professor
Department of Psychiatry and Behavioral Neuroscience
University of Chicago
 
This series and other SfHP-sponsored teleconferences and webinars are presented as a benefit of membership in the Society for Health Psychology (APA Division 38).  
 
 
To Register:
 
If you plan to participate, please RSVP to apadiv38@verizon.net by 5:00 pm Eastern time on Friday, April 28, 2017.  You may also submit questions in your RSVP email.  
 
A confirmation email, with dial-in instructions and supporting documents, will be sent no later than 5:00 pm Eastern time on Tuesday, May 2.
 
Please put Managing Opioid Risk in the subject line.  
 
Keep in mind:  you do not need to be a member of APA to join our Society.  Check out a complete list of membership benefits.
 
Become a part of the Society for Health Psychology – and invite your colleagues, too!

Follow us on Twitter
@apadivision38