Articles

Teleconference Series: Health Promotion for Health Psychologists: Practicing what we Teach for the Sake of our Patients, Students, and Workplaces

Thursday, May 17, 2018
2:00 pm ET, 1:00 pm CT, noon MT, 11:00 am PT
(teleconference will last no more than one hour)

How can you be doing more to promote health and well-being in your workplace?
 
Research consistently shows that self care and health promotion in psychologists trickles down to our patients, students, and coworkers. Self care and health promotion in personal life has the ability to transform our workplaces, change our training culture, and bolster our ability to engage in activism. Many of us need more self care than ever in the current tumultuous social climate.
 
Please join us for a discussion with experts in the field, reviewing research, talking about far-reaching implications for this work, and setting practical goals for self care, health promotion, and furthering clinical and research work in this area.
 
Speakers:

Amanda Almond, PhD, The City University of New York

Kristen Riley, PhD, Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center

Erin Ayala, PhD, LP, Saint Mary’s University of Minnesota

This series and other SfHP-sponsored teleconferences and webinars are presented as a benefit of membership in the Society for Health Psychology.  Please join/renew prior to this event, in order to participate. 
 
(This is not a CE-eligible event.  The teleconference will be recorded for future posting on the SfHP website.)
To Register: If you plan to participate, please RSVP to apadiv38@verizon.net by 5:00 pm Eastern time on Friday, May 11, 2018.  You may also submit questions in your RSVP email. 
 
A confirmation email, with dial-in instructions and supporting documents, will be sent no later than 5:00 pm Eastern time on Monday, May 14.
 
Please put “Health Promotion” in the subject line.  
 
Keep in mind:  you do not need to be a member of APA to join our Society. 

Follow us on Social Media