SfHP Statement on Charlottesville


The leadership of the Society for Health Psychology, in consultation with the Diversity Council and its Chair, Amit Shahane, PhD, spent some time today reflecting on the events in Charlottesville.

We are deeply saddened, and disturbed, by the events and are thinking about those in Charlottesville who are affected, including our Society for Health Psychology members.  Our thoughts also extend to the wider communities who are affected, especially those who are feeling increasingly marginalized and experiencing our country as less welcoming and more hostile.

As a Society, we are guided by certain principles that communicate important aspects of who we are and what we do.  As a Society, we are an inclusive home.  We value and promote diversity across a wide range of factors that include but are not limited to age, gender, gender identity, race, ethnicity, culture, national origin, religion, sexual orientation, disability, language, and socioeconomic status.  We uphold the World Health Organization principle of health as a state of complete physical, psychological, and social well-being, and we believe that psychological factors are essential to determining health and well-being.

We denounce and condemn in the strongest possible terms the intolerance, bigotry, and hatred — expressed in the views and actions of white supremacists and white nationalism — that is dangerous and destructive to our health and well-being. We stand by our guiding principles and in solidarity with those who also promote health and well-being with tolerance and appreciation for diversity.


Justin M. Nash, PhD (President) on behalf of the Executive Committee

Dawn Wilson, PhD (Past President)

Nancy Ruddy, PhD (President Elect)

Dan Bruns, PsyD (Member-at-large)

Teresa Fecteau, PhD (Member-at-large)

John Ruiz, PhD (Member-at-large)

Mark Lumley (Treasurer)

Barbara Cubic, PhD (Incoming Treasurer)

Ronald Rozensky, PhD, ABPP (APA Council Representative)

Richard Seime, PhD, ABPP (APA Council Representative)

Barbara Keeton, Administrative Officer


Follow us on Social Media