Diversity Council


Diversity Council

The Diversity Council focuses its collective efforts on issues of minority health and health disparities.

The mission of the Diversity Council is to uphold the values of diversity, equity, and inclusion in the the Division 38 Society for Health Psychology (SfHP) and promote health all individuals, including those who are minoritized based on race, ethnicity, gender/sexual identity, physical ability, geographic location, income, and education.  

Diversity Council members serve dual roles as liaison representatives in other SfHP councils and committees in order to facilitate cross-cutting representation in the SfHP.

We are always looking for motivated, enthusiastic individuals from students to seasoned professionals to contribute to achieving the mission of this council. To find out how to play a role in our efforts, please contact our chair.



Diversity Council Members

Patricia I. Moreno, PhD, Chair
University of Miami Miller School of Medicine

Diana A. Chirinos, PhD
Northwestern University Feinberg School of Medicine  

Luz M. Garcini, PhD, MPH
UT Health San Antonio

John Sy
Student Advisory Council Representative

Chrystal Spencer, BA
University of Pittsburgh

Marcia M. Tan, PhD, MPH
University of Chicago