Early Career Professionals Council

Society for Health Psychology

Council Focus

The mission of the Early Career Professionals Council (ECPC) is to promote and enhance the involvement of early career psychologists by providing a defined voice and presence within SfHP.

The Early Career Professionals Council (ECPC) is comprised of Early Career Psychologists: anyone who is within 10 years of having received their terminal degree. We accomplish our mission by promoting professional development, advocating for the needs and interests of early career psychologists, and participating in the Society’s Councils and Committees. We encourage you to meet your colleagues and participate by joining our listserv.

ECPC Awards

The ECPC supports its members through a variety of awards each year.

History of ECPC

According to an APA Early Career Psychologist Survey, early career professionals (ECPCs) expressed concerns regarding a number of issues, including how to prepare for tenure; set up practice; secure extramural funding; balance demands of work and a young family; balance multiple job roles; and address significant debt. In late 2010, the SfHP Board of Directors set up an Early Career Professionals Council (ECPC) “to promote and enhance the involvement of early career psychologists by providing a defined voice and presence within Division affairs.”

Council members work to promote the contributions and concerns of ECPCs in Society matters by:

  1. Participating on relevant SfHP Councils and Committees.
  2. Promoting training and professional development through programming at the Annual Meeting and other venues.

Interested in joining the ECPC?

Connect with health psychologists

The ECPC is the professional home within SfHP for people within 10 years of receiving their terminal degree. If this describes you, please reach out to learn more and get involved!


ECP Resources

Council Members

  • Anna-Leigh Powell Robison, PsyD
  • Maria Anastasiades, PsyD
    Education & Training Council Associate Chair
  • Alaina L. Carr, PhD
    2022-2023 SfHP Div38 Postdoctoral Representative
  • Megan E. Douglas, PhD
  • Philip Fizur, PsyD
  • Chase Grosse, PsyD
    Integrated Primary Care Interest Group Representative
  • Madeline Konsor, PhD
    Clinical Health Services Council Representative
  • Brett Millar, PhD
  • Julie Radico, PsyD, ABPP
    SfHP APA Council Representative
  • Laura Oswald, PhD